Maintaining Certified status for Certified Floodplain Manager

Certifications awarded by OFMA can be valid indefinitely and will remain in effect for a one year period. At the end of every year, each CFM must submit a renewal application, and CEC documentation to OFMA and enclose the appropriate renewal fee. When these conditions are met, a one-year renewal will be issued.


The CFM Annual (every year) renewal requirements are:

  • Submittal of renewal application;
  • Submittal of renewal fee;
  • Submittal of proof of 16 Continuing Education Credits (CECs) within the previous 24 months, with a maximum of 12 CECs earned in any one year.
  • When these conditions are met, a one -year renewal will be issued.

A PDF of the application is available for download. Complete the application and mail in your fee with it.  Follow the instructions on the application completely.

Download the CFM Renewal Form

As part of maintaining OFMA Certification status, the Certified Floodplain Manager (CFM®) must stay current in their knowledge of floodplain management policies and concepts. This policy paper contains the criteria and procedures

Download the CEC Policy Paper